Saturday, 18 June 2016

Tanzania is the home to 7 World Heritage Sites

As listed by UNESCO, The United Republic of Tanzania is home to seven World Heritage sites, including cultural, natural and mixed grounds.

The natural sites of the country consist of Kilimanjaro National Park, Serengeti National Park, and the famous Selous Game Reserve.
One mixed World Heritage Site is the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, which is both a natural and a cultural location of Tanzania.
The protected cultural sites include the Kondoa Rock-Art Sites, the Kilwa Ruins, the Ruins of Songo Mnara, and the Stone Town of Zanzibar.
The main sites in the country have existed for many years now, and are some of the most visited touristic sites in East Africa. The beauty of the country and its natural environment attract many visitors each year, and many efforts have been and are still being done by the government to protect these magnificent locations.
The UNESCO selects its World Heritage Sites according to ten specific criteria; so having seven sites listed is a great honor for Tanzania

No comments:

Post a Comment